Weekly Trust

Winners and losers at the AMVCA

The first ever edition of the Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards was successfully held at the Eko Hotel and Suites last Saturday.

The top winners of the night were Nigerian actor O.C Ukeje and Ghana’s Jackie Appiah, who walked away with the Best Actor  and  Best Actress  awards.
The biggest surprises of the night were actresses Genevieve Nnaji and Funke Akindele-Oloyede losing out in their respective categories. Genevieve lost out to Jackie   in the Best Actress category and Funke   lost to Mercy Johnson in the  Best Actress – Comedy (Movies/TV)  category.
The Best Director award went to Anita van Hemert and Chantel Carter for the South African 2011 drama movie ‘Otelo Burning‘ while veteran filmmaker Tunde Kelani walked away with the award ‘Best Local Language Movie’ (Yoruba) for his latest film ‘Maami’.
Long time actor Olu Jacobs received an Industry Merit Award for his outstanding achievements in the industry.
Best Actor, Drama (Movies/TV) went to O. C. Ukeje (wo Brides and a Baby); Jackie Appiah (Perfect Picture) won Best Actress, Drama (Movies/TV) Matthew Nabwiso (A Good Catholic Girl) won Best Supporting Actor – Drama (Movies/TV) and Maureen Koech (Lies that Bind) won Best Supporting Actress – Drama (Movies/TV).
Hafiz Oyetoro (House a Part) won Best Actor Comedy (Movies/TV) as Mercy Johnson (Dumebi the Dirty Girl) won the Best Actress Comedy (Movies/TV).
Best Costume Designer award went to Ngozi Obasi (The Mirror Boy). Ngendo Mukii’s ‘Yellow Fever’ won Best Short Film; Tim Greene (Skeem) won Best Writer for Comedy and Best Sound Editor went to Michael Botha & Joel Assaizky for ‘Man on Ground’.
Obi Emelonye’ ‘The Mirror Boy’ won Best Movie Director; Best Lighting Designer went to Dave Howe for ‘Otelo Burning’ and Anita van Hemert & Chantel Carter won Best Art Director for ‘Otelo Burning’.
The Best Movie (Comedy) was won by Tim Greene (Skeem), Best Picture Editor went to Aryan Kagan of (Man on Ground), as Akin Omotoso/Fabian Adeoye Lojede/Hakeem Kae-Kazim/Rosie Motene (Man on Ground); ‘Maami’ by Tunde Kelani won Best Local Language Movie (Yoruba), A. Ali/Hafizu Bello’s ‘Faida Nura’ won Best Local Language Movie (Hausa) and Best Local Langauge Movie (Swahili) went to Sameer Srivastava/Sanjni Srivastava for ‘The Ray of Hope’.
Obi Emelonye/Amaka Obi-Emelonye’s ‘The Mirror Boy’ won Best Writer (Drama) as Best Television Series award went to Godffrey Mwampembwa/Marie Lora-Mungai for ‘The XYZ Show’.
Best Cinematographer went to Paul Michelson (Man on Ground) as Jacqui Bannermen (Otelo Burning) won Best Make-Up Artist.
Sara Blecher’s ‘Otelo Burning’ won the Best Movie. Ivie Okujaiye emerged as Industry Trailblazer winner.


(c) Media Trust Limited. 1998 - 2013